2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
Post Reply
GreenEggsAndFord
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:02 pm
Vehicle: Ford Edge, 3.5L, 2007

2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by GreenEggsAndFord » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:06 pm

Hey everyone, I am new to the forum and have tried doing some searches on an older Ford Edge but I seem to be getting no where.
I have Forscan installed, extended licence, and I am using a VINT-T55502 HS/MS OBD2 Scan Tool on my Ford Edge. I have backups made of the As Built Data, and have a copy of the original info from MotorCraftService.

My question is, what values do I have to change to disable TPMS? I have a dead battery in the rear right sensor and I will be switching over to Winter Tires/Wheels very soon. The light is always on the dash, and Forscan code is ===GEM DTC B2872-E0=== Code: B2872 - Tire Pressure Sensor Fault.
I would like to disable this so I no longer have to see that annoying warning.

When I scan GEM, I get nothing to enable/disable TPMS. When I scan GEM AsBuilt, I get a beginning value of 726. I'm lost on what numbers to change.

Can anyone help on what values I need to change? I am happy to supply more infomation if needed.

Juice
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: 2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by Juice » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:11 pm

I found the TPMS disable bit in the first line of the GEM as-built on my 2007 Mustang in 726-01-01.

Original value: 0000 0020 0251
No TPMS value: 0000 0020 00xx, last 2 digits are the checksum, let Forscan calculate it.

Again, this was on a MUSTANG of the same year, and it is my 'best guess' that Ford keeps things similar between different models. But all the experimentation I've done, it was 726-01-01 changes that turned functions On or Off in the GEM. Just make sure you saved the original config so you can go back (if needed).

GreenEggsAndFord
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:02 pm
Vehicle: Ford Edge, 3.5L, 2007

Re: 2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by GreenEggsAndFord » Fri Oct 12, 2018 3:57 pm

Thanks for the reply.
I took at look at my GEM as built again and the values in the boxes for 726-01-01 are showing:
7400 A3
Only 2 boxes to make any sort of edits to.

I did however come across another post for a 2008 Ford F250? The poster said:
In the IC module
buddies 2008 was 726-02-01 0060 1E1E 00CC

changed to 0000 0000 0030

It shut the tpms completely off.
There is just so much information out there to scan through and learn about. I like to be very cautious when taking on a new task. I'll keep doing some research but I'm coming up dry with the older model Fords.

Juice
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: 2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by Juice » Sat Oct 13, 2018 5:03 pm

By modifying the IC, I believe that poster only shut off the TPMS readout but did not disable it. The actual TPMS system is in the GEM. I've done some modifications to my IC also, I had to disable the Traction control, and ABS warning lights as my car does not have ABS at all. So the cluster was displaying warnings on those systems.

Wiseguytaz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 5:55 pm
Vehicle: Ford edge sel 2007 3.5l v6 awd

Re: 2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by Wiseguytaz » Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:37 am

I also have 07 ford edge with cheap usb obd2 with switch...I had code b2872-e0..seems like some tire shake like it's out of balance...I figured from sensor coming lose or something I've read where cell phone chargers can mess with the sensors I wonder if our elms could do that but I don't see how it would create tire shake like I have . lmk how it turns out I've read gem tpms pids but doesn't tell me much..and I've been having a hard time trying to connect elm

Juice
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: 2007 Ford Edge - Disable TPMS?

Post by Juice » Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:05 pm

Wiseguytaz wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:37 am
I've been having a hard time trying to connect elm
Have you read this? https://forscan.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16 It may help optimizing the connection.

Post Reply