Bench harness / manually select vehicle

Discussion about adapters and connections - usage, problems, solutions
Post Reply
dmaxben
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:59 am
Vehicle: 2015 Ford F-250 6.7 diesel

Bench harness / manually select vehicle

Post by dmaxben » Thu Feb 22, 2018 1:50 am

Hi, Im doing some test work with various different body modules on the bench.

It seems as though Forscan is "automatic" in setting itself up purely based on what VIN is received from the PCM, which is a bit frustrating. Is it possible to override this?

Sometimes the same physical module type might be used on different vehicle lines, so if Forscan limits you to only allowing actuator tests and functions based on the VIN as read from the PCM, it is a bit limiting for doing bench experimentation and testing...

ie, the same BCM is used on a Navigator as on an F-150....but if your bench PCM's VIN is that of an F-150, Forscan will only display the "F-150" functions, when in reality you might want to experiment with and bench test some Navigator functions....if that makes sense?

I'd rather not have to buy a bunch of different PCM's to setup on the bench JUST to satisfy Forscan, when Im not even working with the PCM's specifically (I only work with the body/interior modules).

Thanks
Ben

12voltWILL
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:47 pm
Vehicle: F150, 5.0L v8/285HP, 2015

Re: Bench harness / manually select vehicle

Post by 12voltWILL » Sun Mar 11, 2018 11:17 pm

Ive bee trying the same as well in a way. Ive been using my work van which in a 2015 transit and trying to access an apim using an obd2 splitter harness i made but FORSCAN wont see it. If I use it in a vehicle built with an apim it sees it.

R0undyM0oney
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:35 am
Vehicle: Ford Transit 2.4 tdci jumbo 5 speed 2006

Re: Bench harness / manually select vehicle

Post by R0undyM0oney » Mon Mar 12, 2018 12:32 pm

This is something i am also interested in too
Fix
Or
Repair
Daily

dmaxben
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:59 am
Vehicle: 2015 Ford F-250 6.7 diesel

Re: Bench harness / manually select vehicle

Post by dmaxben » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:23 pm

Just figured I would bump this up to the top...it really would be nice to be able to manually select vehicle, or at least manually enter a VIN. :(

Ben

Post Reply