do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Any issues related to FORScan application
Post Reply
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

hi all,
I have a new key to program to my focus mk2 2005 (55 plate). In my hand book all it says is 'your vehicle is supplied with coded keys. replacement keys must be recoded together with your other keys.'
can this be done with the two original keys or do I need to use PATS setting?
also, do I need extended licence to check blank key is compatible?
clemo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:35 pm
Vehicle: S max 2.0 tdci mk1.5 2010
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by clemo »

Try this see if this works. It is for the mondeo but the process will be exactly the same.
http://www.fordwiki.co.uk/index.php?tit ... rogramming
If this does not work you will need to go though pats programig.
Hope this helps.
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

thanks clemo, will give it a go.
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

hi
tried the key in key out etc. that does not work.
I take it I will need to obtain a licence to do this via the elm237.
I have 2 proper keys that I presume are original keys, one remote and one non remote that still has the plastic thing with numbers on.
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

hi again,
have now obtained licence, wish me luck
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

hi,
got the b1600 dtc code. key can not be programed.
can anyone tell me if there is a way to find out what type transponder chip is in original key.
thanks.

the joys of buying from online shops. it said it was compatible with my year and model. new key has 4d-63 chip

also when I unplugged elm237 and went out later the clock was 5 mins slow. any ideas or just coincidence?
thanks
jay ward
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:34 pm
Vehicle: focus 1.6 ti-vct 115ps 2005

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by jay ward »

OMG,
am I thick or stupid?
is the plastic wedge thing that came with key for opening the key as I thought, or is it the chip?
if it is the chip I am thick and stupid!
clemo
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:35 pm
Vehicle: S max 2.0 tdci mk1.5 2010
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by clemo »

If its the tiny little black peice with white writting on this will be the chip that goes into the key.
TimFor
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:06 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus, 1,8 TDCI, 85kW, 2007.

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Post by TimFor »

jay ward wrote:hi,
got the b1600 dtc code. key can not be programed.
can anyone tell me if there is a way to find out what type transponder chip is in original key.
Same question.
I got a chip that Forscan doesn't recognize. Seller wrote it's 4D-60. But I have Mk2 Focus that should be using 4D-63 according to http://www.transpondery.com/transponder ... talog.html. I'd like to verify this.
Post Reply