Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Share your FORScan experience with other users
Post Reply
Jenniemazda3
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:44 am
Vehicle: Mazda 3 1.6 D

Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by Jenniemazda3 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:30 pm

Hello all,

My Mondeo has an unusual fault and google and searching forums is not helping me, so hoping someone maybe able to help.

The car drives fine, but when started says “Engine malfunction”. I have read the codes with Forscan I get:

P2121 – Throttle/pedal position sensor switch D circuit range/performance.

U0428 –Invalid data from Sasm,

I googled this and found threads saying the throttle sensor was in the accelerator pedal, so I replaced pedal. This has not rectified the fault.

I did some live readings of the modules with Forscan (screen shots below). The accelerator when pressed is not registering on the top 2, but is on the bottom.

https://ibb.co/daEovp

https://ibb.co/nfk6gU

I am unable to reset the service light either, when i push accelerator and brake is not doing it :( I am assuming it is related to the throttle sensor fault. It is ashame forscan will not let me reset this.

Anyone any ideas please what is wrong with the car? I am a bit stuck with this now.. Also why is there 3 readings for an accelerator?

f-wolf
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:41 am
Vehicle: Ford XR6 Turbo BA MK II 6 Speed Manual

Re: Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by f-wolf » Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:36 am

Re " My Mondeo " ?? :roll:

If you want help ... I need some more information !

*** so I replaced pedal. This has not rectified the fault

The TPS is on the Throttle Body on your Engine !

It senses the position of the Throttle Body Butterfly

This is what most of the TPS units look like
Imrc6.jpg
Imrc6.jpg (29.12 KiB) Viewed 343 times

https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_fro ... r&_sacat=0
Last edited by f-wolf on Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Jenniemazda3
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:44 am
Vehicle: Mazda 3 1.6 D

Re: Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by Jenniemazda3 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:42 am

Sorry my car is a 2008 1.8 Diesel with 160,000 miles.

If you need any further information please let me know..

Thanks,

Jennie

f-wolf
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 12:41 am
Vehicle: Ford XR6 Turbo BA MK II 6 Speed Manual

Re: Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by f-wolf » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:00 pm


Jenniemazda3
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:44 am
Vehicle: Mazda 3 1.6 D

Re: Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by Jenniemazda3 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:04 pm

Thank you :)

1 problem though, i called ford today they were unable to locate the TPS so had to call me back. They called me back and insist it is in the accelerator pedal.. :(

william
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:41 am

Re: Throttle Position Sensor + Sasm unit fault codes please help :)

Post by william » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:18 pm

Accelerator pedal has two sensors built into it, looks like you have a problem with APP-D.
As you have changed the pedal and the problem is still there then there could be a fault with one of the sensor wires or a blown fuse, check fuse 4 in the passenger side fuse box first if its ok then get the wires going to the pedal checked out.
08 mk4 mondeo 2.0 140 bhp

Post Reply