Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Share your FORScan experience with other users
Post Reply
jonny
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:47 am
Vehicle: Ford Ka - insigma 1.5 flex - year 2013 -

Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by jonny » Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:49 pm

Hí to All , my idea for Forscan Software.

My idea for forscan software, can you in next release put network test for all modules, Global test !!!!!
tree connections named ( Can Bus test ).

What do you think ?
any chance to implement this software?

Thanks for all

FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2553
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by FORScan » Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:15 am

What do you mean under global test? FORScan does check the vehicle network for modules available. If some module doesn't respond, it is not really possible to find out if it doesn't work because of a malfunction, or just (normally) missing on this specific vehicle. On the other hand, there are "mandatory" modules (that must be in any vehicle of this model) and "optional" (that depend on configuration), it is possible to add a check for the mandatory modules.

Or, you mean some other function?

jonny
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:47 am
Vehicle: Ford Ka - insigma 1.5 flex - year 2013 -

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by jonny » Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:14 am

Hello Forscan admin ,
clarifying about ( global test )

My suggestion, idea for Forscan software.
Can you added new function " Can bus analysis " MS-can and HS-can test , this feature will check the Can network , Can gateway and node, It is the same function used in another scantool, software Ford Focom, VCM-Obd .

this will be very useful to network diagnosis , in this excellent software Forscan .

what do you think ?
regards.

FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2553
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by FORScan » Thu Nov 26, 2015 12:02 pm

OK we will check how it is implemented in IDS, to better understand the idea

andresmorago
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:26 pm
Vehicle: 2015 Focus SE

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by andresmorago » Wed Jul 05, 2017 3:39 am

This would be very cool actually. In my case, I just added a sync2 apim and needed to wire ms-can to it. I'm not 100% percent sure if network is recognizing the new unit.

shortkud
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:16 am
Vehicle: 2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium 2.0L

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by shortkud » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:22 am

Agree on this. My service manual speaks of doing a general "network test" and I believe it would be this and checking the gateway.

Todd Ector
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 1:33 pm
Vehicle: 2004 F150 XLT , 5.4 3v sohc 300hp
Location: Elbow, Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: Forscan CAN-BUS Global test

Post by Todd Ector » Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:55 am

If your vehicle has MS can bus and the sync module is good it would be seen during the initial scan of your vehicle (assuming that your OBDII tool is MS capable). If you have a vehicle like mine where I have added the ability Forscan or Ford's own IDS won't be able to see it, you can though see them communicate if you have software capable of sniffing CAN bus packets.

Post Reply