How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Share your FORScan experience with other users
MondeoMatt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:00 am
Vehicle: 2010 Mondeo 2.0 Tdci Duratorq

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learni

Post by MondeoMatt » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:23 am

stimpy88 wrote:Is this feature ever going to come out for the 6DCT450 version?

I can't say just how critical this feature is needed with these gearboxes.

Yep totally agree with u on that one any news if this is being looked into? Has anybody attempted to use this procedure with the dct450 ? any info would be appreciated as looking to change gearbox and need to re calibrate the tcm . Car is currently in our workshop atm . Thanks.

MondeoMatt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:00 am
Vehicle: 2010 Mondeo 2.0 Tdci Duratorq

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learni

Post by MondeoMatt » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:34 am

FORScan wrote:Only 6DCT250
Any updates on this function for the 6DCT450 ? or how we can reprogram tcm after gearbox replacement ? cheers :D

stimpy88
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:28 am
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo Mk4.5 - Diesel 2.0, 163, 2013

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learni

Post by stimpy88 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:12 am

MondeoMatt wrote:
FORScan wrote:Only 6DCT250
Any updates on this function for the 6DCT450 ? or how we can reprogram tcm after gearbox replacement ? cheers :D
I really don’t think they read the English forum, haven’t done for years now. I’ve been waiting for this feature for so bloody long, I’ve given up. I have to pay my Ford garage, when I’d much rather pay for ForScan to let me do it myself.

However, ForScan seems to not be adding any new test or service procedures for European Fords. I can’t remember the last time their was a meaningful addition to the Mondeo models from before 2015, which is the vast majority that are in service and on the road today.

It’s a shame, this program had so much promise, in the beginning, but since they left the forum, updates are drying up.

sineDko
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:20 pm
Vehicle: mondeo 4 2.0

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learni

Post by sineDko » Thu May 24, 2018 5:24 pm

hi there. any news with 6DCT450?
i would appreciate it so much.

chackett
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:47 pm
Vehicle: 2012 Lincoln Navigator

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by chackett » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:25 pm

Seems like I am a little late to the party on this one, but I have a 2012 Lincoln Nav with the 6r80 transmission in it.

I recently replaced the molded leadframe assembly (which has input and output shaft speed sensors on it). My hard shifting issues seem resolved, but I would like to clear the adaptive tables in the TSC.

I have the Veepeak VP01 adapter and of course FORScan. I will start poking around but I have 2 specific questions ..

1. Is this thread what I need to do? If someone has said "you should clear your adaptive tables" .. is this the same as what this thread is doing?

2. Is this possible with the adapter I have? It seems some adapters are better than others or have some sort of functionality that others don't.

Thanks!
Chris

UPDATE: Ok. so that was easy enough. I was able to find the "clear adaptive tables" in the maintenance menu and evidently successfully cleared the adaptive tables. I found this article which not EXACTLY the same procedure I did, but it does give a "relearn" driving procedure which I will follow. Here is the article: https://www.autoserviceprofessional.com ... ns-relearn

Irishbrewer
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 6:58 pm
Vehicle: 2012 Ford Focus SEL

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by Irishbrewer » Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:12 pm

Here is some more detailed information on what happens during each of the adaptive learning phases.

https://ford.oemdtc.com/1514/dps6-clutc ... ansmission

Aplaisan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:45 pm
Vehicle: Ford explorer

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by Aplaisan » Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:07 pm

Can this be used in the event of a replacement tcm? I bought a brand new tcm from ford and wondering of i can follow this procedure to program or do i need to install firmware first?
Thanks

stimpy88
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:28 am
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo Mk4.5 - Diesel 2.0, 163, 2013

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by stimpy88 » Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:36 pm

Aplaisan wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 4:07 pm
Can this be used in the event of a replacement tcm? I bought a brand new tcm from ford and wondering of i can follow this procedure to program or do i need to install firmware first?
Thanks
Yes you should carry out this procedure, but you need to ensure that the TCM and PCM are on the same firmware, as they work together.

rich935
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 11:45 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus SE 2.0

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by rich935 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:52 pm

Does this clear DTC's? If DTC P2831 comes back on after a few ignition cycles after this procedure what does that mean? Do I have the wrong adapter? I have an ELS27 with double sided Green PCB PIC24HJ128GP+FTDI Mircochip. Does it mean have a bad TCM?

sharaaznm
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 9:16 pm
Vehicle: ford fiesta 2012 1.6 dsg auto

Re: How to perform Powershift 6DCT250 (DPS6) adaptive learning

Post by sharaaznm » Sun Jun 28, 2020 1:13 am

Hi I have a 2011 Ford fiesta 1.6 dsp6 250 , I had my mechanic replace the clutch by the book ,but there's no dealership anywhere near me to do the clutch adaptive learning .so I tried to do it with forscan and a bluetooth elm .The adaptive leaning starts but the problem starts when I have to start the engine. There's no 3rd party or aftermarket devices in the car but the car wont go from on to start ,I have to switch off first then start .Within 3-5 seconds of starting the car there's a horrific grinding noise that bring the car to switch off . If I take off battery terminal, roll the car back and forth to disengage the gear , reset the module and start , its starts and idles as normal ,but as soon as I do the adaptive learning all hell breaks loose . Any advise .

NB# From south Africa, its impossible to get the correct obd tools out here ,if you can it's the same price as buying a dealer vcm

Post Reply