Page 1 of 1

do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:55 pm
by jay ward
hi all,
I have a new key to program to my focus mk2 2005 (55 plate). In my hand book all it says is 'your vehicle is supplied with coded keys. replacement keys must be recoded together with your other keys.'
can this be done with the two original keys or do I need to use PATS setting?
also, do I need extended licence to check blank key is compatible?

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:37 pm
by clemo
Try this see if this works. It is for the mondeo but the process will be exactly the same.
http://www.fordwiki.co.uk/index.php?tit ... rogramming
If this does not work you will need to go though pats programig.
Hope this helps.

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:04 pm
by jay ward
thanks clemo, will give it a go.

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:24 pm
by jay ward
hi
tried the key in key out etc. that does not work.
I take it I will need to obtain a licence to do this via the elm237.
I have 2 proper keys that I presume are original keys, one remote and one non remote that still has the plastic thing with numbers on.

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:58 pm
by jay ward
hi again,
have now obtained licence, wish me luck

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:04 pm
by jay ward
hi,
got the b1600 dtc code. key can not be programed.
can anyone tell me if there is a way to find out what type transponder chip is in original key.
thanks.

the joys of buying from online shops. it said it was compatible with my year and model. new key has 4d-63 chip

also when I unplugged elm237 and went out later the clock was 5 mins slow. any ideas or just coincidence?
thanks

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:51 pm
by jay ward
OMG,
am I thick or stupid?
is the plastic wedge thing that came with key for opening the key as I thought, or is it the chip?
if it is the chip I am thick and stupid!

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 9:31 am
by clemo
If its the tiny little black peice with white writting on this will be the chip that goes into the key.

Re: do i need to use PATS to prgram key

Posted: Thu May 03, 2018 2:55 pm
by TimFor
jay ward wrote:hi,
got the b1600 dtc code. key can not be programed.
can anyone tell me if there is a way to find out what type transponder chip is in original key.
Same question.
I got a chip that Forscan doesn't recognize. Seller wrote it's 4D-60. But I have Mk2 Focus that should be using 4D-63 according to http://www.transpondery.com/transponder ... talog.html. I'd like to verify this.