[SOLVED] Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Any issues related to FORScan application
Post Reply
tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

[SOLVED] Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Sat Oct 05, 2019 8:42 pm

Hello to everyone - I'm new to the forum.
Today I've tried to connect my Mondeo MK4 (2014) with Forscan to enter configuration and just see what I can change there.
However I've encountered a problem, which I don't know how to solve.

I tried to enter Central Configuration (Main) but something went wrong. I tried it several times but still no success.
At first try Forscan downloaded additional files. It didn't work correctly so then I also downloaded that most popular SBL files, which are here:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1932

Still no success.

Please see the attached screenshots.
I still have an error Operation failed, retrying... Loading SBL failed.

I have a connection with the vehicle. I can read the DTC, clear it, read the parameters etc.
But I still cannot enter central configuration...

What I'm doing wrong?
Attachments
eng2.JPG
eng2.JPG (58.67 KiB) Viewed 241 times
eng1.JPG
eng1.JPG (68.94 KiB) Viewed 243 times
Last edited by tecto on Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:26 pm

Can someone help me please?

Don Ridley
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:31 am
Vehicle: 2016 Transit Connect

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by Don Ridley » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:06 pm

I think SBL loading requires a connection to the internet.

tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:20 am

I have an internet connection.
I recall also that during first run Forscan downloaded some additional files.

Still without success :(

User avatar
fordsmax471
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:29 pm
Vehicle: Ford S-Max Mk2 2,0 TDCi PowerShift

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by fordsmax471 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:39 pm

I'm testing today on the same car
feedback later

the test was successful ;)

check if you have any files in the CalibrationFiles folder

C:\Users\User\Documents\CalibrationFiles
calibration files.PNG
calibration files.PNG (8.29 KiB) Viewed 180 times

if FORScan asks for a different file, download the correct file here: https://www.fordtechservice.dealerconne ... roduct=IDS
ELS27 v4.0 USB

User avatar
fordsmax471
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:29 pm
Vehicle: Ford S-Max Mk2 2,0 TDCi PowerShift

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by fordsmax471 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:22 pm

up
ELS27 v4.0 USB

tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:10 am

I have all the calibration files, which you showed above and also additional files from this link: http://forscan.org/download/CalibrationFiles.zip

Unfortunately it still doesn't work.

When I'm confirming to start the procedure Forscan doesn't ask for any additional files - it just shows me these errors, which I showed on first post.

I have a dedicated Ford USB interface based on STN1170 chip.
As I wrote before I have a connection with the vehicle. I can read the DTC, clear it, read the parameters etc.
But I still cannot enter central configuration...

Any ideas?

User avatar
fordsmax471
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:29 pm
Vehicle: Ford S-Max Mk2 2,0 TDCi PowerShift

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by fordsmax471 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:32 am

try it, delete car modules and setting-connection , set all option to "AUTO"
start with a new load
ELS27 v4.0 USB

tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:34 am

I tried everything, which you proposed including fresh Forscan install.
I think I will try on another laptop and see the result.

One more thing - one of the users at Mondeo Forum informed me that the incorrect firmware version in my ST1170 chip might causing problems.
He even told me that maybe I should downgrade the version to the older one.
He recommented me this site:
https://www.scantool.net/downloads/updates/stn1170/

I have the latest version 4.2.4 with release date of January 30, 2017. The previous version is 3.3.1 with release date of September 25, 2012.
Since my Mondeo is 2014 I don't think it's reasonable to downgrade the version. What do you think about it?

tecto
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:53 pm
Vehicle: Mondeo MK4

Re: Mondeo MK4 - loading SBL failed - why?

Post by tecto » Fri Oct 11, 2019 1:22 pm

Ok I solved it.
I downgraded the ST1170 firmware to 3.3.1 as mentioned above and it works correctly now.

Post Reply