Loss connection to multiple modules

Discussion about adapters and connections - usage, problems, solutions
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

I do an ipc test- no errors found
Bdy CM test - no errors found
GSM test - I get a p166b code
Apim test - no codes
Ecmbuster
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:08 am
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles
Location: On a spinning rock

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Ecmbuster »

The SCCM?
That schematic you have for the extra lighting kit, do you have a digital copy?
The transmission shifter, it it a rotary knob? Are all the lamps active in the correct position?

NOTE: If a GSM self-test is performed, the driver door must be closed and locked.
A false P166B and/or P081F DTC sets if the driver door is opened or unlocked during the self-test.
Do not ask for help in PM. Use the forum to ask and answer questions!
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

Yes my mistake, I thought when it said locked/closed. I just had doors closed not locked.
I redid the test and passed no errors.

The shifter knob is the rotary knob.
It changes on the cluster perfectly and on the knob. Everything seems to work.

Very strange this issue.

I don’t have the diagram for the fog lights, was only paper copy. I got rid of the fog lights and wiring. It’s all in the garage, 2 weeks ago.

Sccm- steering column control module

Or possibly bad bcm, I just don’t know what to test

Once it’s on for some time the PCM gives a code
U101f
Invalid internal control module monitoring data received from transmission range control module
Ecmbuster
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:08 am
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles
Location: On a spinning rock

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Ecmbuster »

The SCCM is connected to HS-CAN2
Where is it? Look at the Modules Tab that was posted.
SCCM Function.jpg
SCCM Function.jpg (69.14 KiB) Viewed 296 times
Maybe you should look at the fuse box that was removed and the panels removed to install the lights and switch.
Back to the scene of the crime.
Do not ask for help in PM. Use the forum to ask and answer questions!
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

The fuse box was removed after this happened.
The only thing I did was remove the headlight connector, to measure 12v with my multi meter when headlight went on.

In that area there is a few ground screws, I took everything apart (bumper, light, plastics under the car to see if possible ground was loose. Confirmed everything is good.
Everything seems to work.
I can force things to go on, so I know all grounds are good.

I made a appointment with the dealer, they say it’s a 1 week wait, but will drop it off tomorrow and may will look at it sooner.

Will update what they say
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

So the dealer did a scan with ids
They are telling me it’s 2 modules that are not talking.
They said something about dead beat fault, on the Steering control module. They also said it’s the range control module. I’m having a heard time believing it’s the range control module, as it seems to be working.

They want 4 hours at 150$ usd per hour to tell me the problem.

So I think I will just take the car and swap out the steering control module. Test it after.

Does anyone know if this steering control module is plug and play or needs to be programmed
Ecmbuster
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:08 am
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles
Location: On a spinning rock

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Ecmbuster »

It has to be programmed.
Instead of jumping the potato gun, measure the power and ground of the SCCM.
Take a photo of it. Is that where you wired the relay connections?
SCCM.pdf
(141.03 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Do not ask for help in PM. Use the forum to ask and answer questions!
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

Do you have the pin out for the sccm?
I’m gonna pick up the car from the Ford dealer tomorrow

Edit” saw you posted the Pin out. Will test tomorrow
Looke46
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 10:58 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion 2.5l

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Looke46 »

So I verified I have 12 volts at my SCCM

My range control module has power also, as it’s working, shifting. The entire unit is 1 piece, motor and module
Ecmbuster
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:08 am
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles
Location: On a spinning rock

Re: Loss connection to multiple modules

Post by Ecmbuster »

Looke46 wrote:
Sat Jun 26, 2021 6:55 pm
So I verified I have 12 volts at my SCCM
My range control module has power also, as it’s working, shifting. The entire unit is 1 piece, motor and module
That's where the oscilloscope comes out to measure the messaging structure and interconnection between the control modules.
One last time, where did you attach the power connector with that relay. Did you do that at the head lamp switch or power feed at the DRL head lamp running 50% less than active night time driving lamps?
Do not ask for help in PM. Use the forum to ask and answer questions!
Post Reply