Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
Bassie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:10 pm
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo/Fusion MK5, 2.0 TDi 180HP, 2015

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by Bassie » Mon Oct 21, 2019 8:59 pm

I use a ELM327 Ford edition, with switch and usb cable (https://www.obdshop.nl/obd-2-ford-forsc ... a4b8i9NehA)

Focus-MK4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:51 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus MK4 - EcoBlue 1.5

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by Focus-MK4 » Tue Oct 22, 2019 3:05 pm

I´m using this one
https://amzn.to/37dTXQ7

Check out my YouTube Channel if you haven´t already where I describe everything about Focus MK4: http://www.youtube.de/my-ford-focus
Last edited by Focus-MK4 on Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ford Focus MK4 YouTube Channel http://youtube.de/c/My-Ford-Focus

VIS
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:50 pm
Vehicle: 2013 FOCUS ST, 271

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by VIS » Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:10 pm

Did you ever figure this out? I’ve plugged a new Focus in today with sync 3 and no apim.

This is the next generation sync 3 without apim. The screen is connected directly to the acm which usually would be the radio tuner amplifier. I’m presuming this is fords answer to a cheaper sync 3.

Thanks

mschumiv
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:12 am
Vehicle: Ford Focus MK4 1.5L 88kw diesel 2019

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by mschumiv » Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:30 am

VIS wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 8:10 pm
Did you ever figure this out? I’ve plugged a new Focus in today with sync 3 and no apim.

This is the next generation sync 3 without apim. The screen is connected directly to the acm which usually would be the radio tuner amplifier. I’m presuming this is fords answer to a cheaper sync 3.

Thanks
You are right!
There is no APIM module in some mk4 Focus, the ACM module has the software needed to run SYNC system.
On these cheaper versions you cannot run native Navigation, advanced climate control or DAB. At least we have Android auto.
At the moment i'm researching a way to install an APIM module for SYNC 3 and reconfigure the system.

Jburnsi4
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:31 am
Vehicle: Fiesta active 1/1.0 ecoboost/ 100, 2019

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by Jburnsi4 » Tue May 05, 2020 7:35 am

I've managed to enable cruise control and auto wipers anyway but the only other thing I'd like to do is change the splash screen. Is there a way to do this without the APIM module?

Jburnsi4
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:31 am
Vehicle: Fiesta active 1/1.0 ecoboost/ 100, 2019

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by Jburnsi4 » Tue May 05, 2020 7:55 pm

Hi, some models don't have apim, they use the acm module. Mines a mk8 fiesta and doesn't have it. I'm trying to change the spladh screen but can't.

roylion15
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:35 am
Vehicle: Fiesta ST, 1500, Ecoboost, 200 PK, 2019 model

Re: Focus MK4 no APIM Module visible

Post by roylion15 » Wed May 06, 2020 7:13 am

Hello
That is a basic "SYNC" integrated in the ACM , it's not a "equivalent" with a "SYNC 3".

I think it's not possible to replace this SYNC system with a SYNC 3 APIM, to many unknow modifications with ACM and all the wiring need to be replaced and programmation of all this stuff .
No support in PM without invitation, please !

Post Reply