Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
Fiest_pete
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Vehicle: Fiesta 1.5 TDCi 2013 Mk7.5

Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Fiest_pete » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:08 pm

Hi I have a 2013 UK facelift Mk 7.5 Fiesta 1.5 TdCI. Zetec.
I'm hoping someone can help with my issue.

I've bought a steering wheel with cruise control from eBay (from a Titanium, I think) and swapped the chrome trim and buttons over to my existing wheel (airbag is a real pain to release, until you figure out exactly the right technique).

I appear to have successfully programmed IPC Central Configuration to enable the cruise control.
However, despite the buttons lighting up (suggesting all physically connected correctly), they refuse to actually do anything and theres no dashboard light for cruise displayed.

I have re-checked the vehicle programming and re-uploaded to be sure and all appears OK.
I also dismantled the steering wheel to re-check all the connections, all looks fine, but still no working cruise.

Is there anything more I can check in FORScan?
Can I be sure the cruise buttons off the ebay wheel are working correctly themselves?
Last edited by Fiest_pete on Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gg1234635
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 9:04 pm
Vehicle: mondeo, 2.0 180, 2016

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by gg1234635 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:17 pm

I think you need to make a change in the BCM as well
726-13-01 xxxX-xxxx-xxxx change large X to one of the following

0 - no cruise control
8 - Normal Cruise control
C - adaptive Cruise control

You need to have a adaptive cruise control module to active that. Mine is set to 8

remember to save a backup of your config first before you make any changes

Hope that helps

Fiest_pete
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Vehicle: Fiesta 1.5 TDCi 2013 Mk7.5

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Fiest_pete » Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:22 pm

Thanks for the reply, but I'm not sure what the BCM is - is this one of the AS BUILT modules?
I checked all of those, but no 726-13-01 setting.

This is what I have done so far...…
2019-03-19 17_16_47-FORScan.png
2019-03-19 17_16_47-FORScan.png (47.84 KiB) Viewed 2791 times
2019-03-19 17_09_05-FORScan.png
2019-03-19 17_09_05-FORScan.png (39.92 KiB) Viewed 2791 times

And I checked the IPC AS BUILT:
2019-03-19 17_13_23-FORScan.png
2019-03-19 17_13_23-FORScan.png (85.88 KiB) Viewed 2791 times

Fiest_pete
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Vehicle: Fiesta 1.5 TDCi 2013 Mk7.5

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Fiest_pete » Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:02 pm

OK, figured out BCM = Body Control Module.

But I don't see any way to program this in FORScan?

Fiest_pete
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Vehicle: Fiesta 1.5 TDCi 2013 Mk7.5

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Fiest_pete » Wed Mar 27, 2019 9:40 pm

Realised that my ELM327 was no good as not HS/MS switch modified.

Bought another (USB based) and tried with that - now can see BSM module in the configuration list.

I backed up the config and made the change as suggested to register 726-13-01, changing the last digit of the first number to an 8, but get a checksum error below.....
2019-03-27 21_06_37-FORScan.png
2019-03-27 21_06_37-FORScan.png (62.82 KiB) Viewed 2706 times
I wrote the config anyway (I have a backup) and the car "rebooted".
However, downloading the BCM config again showed that it hadn't actually been changed and of course CC not working.

Am I doing something wrong/daft?

Fiest_pete
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:49 pm
Vehicle: Fiesta 1.5 TDCi 2013 Mk7.5

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Fiest_pete » Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:49 pm

It turns out that all this messing about with BCM is nonsense - especially on a mk7.5 Fiesta!

I had it right all along with just activating Cruise in FORScan in IPC Main - this guide I eventually found via Google search (Bing didn't find it) a very recent full write up for a mk7.5, which confirms everything I did was right - https://www.fordownersclub.com/forums/t ... ions-guide

However, what I didn't bank on was Ford's dumb indicators for cruise - i.e. there are NONE when you switch it on, and you actually only get an indicator lighting up when a speed is set!
Every other car I have had with cruise has an indicator to confirm that cruise is switch on and then another to show that a speed has been set.

So it was probably working perfectly all along!!
Probably didn't have to waste money an another ELM327 either!

Miecosport
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:08 pm
Vehicle: Ford ecosport, 1.5tdci duratorq / 95cv, 2015

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Miecosport » Tue Apr 09, 2019 2:22 pm

I wanted to thank you for your contribution, I was lost until I read your topic, and I have begun to understand how to do it. Thank you!!
When I get it, I will leave my contribution for ecosport

franfran07
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 4:21 pm
Vehicle: ford fiesta mk7 1.6 tdci 2009

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by franfran07 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:15 pm

Hey guys, today i installed cc buttons and i activated it. I got the tell tale light on when i switch ignition on but that's it(yes, i pressed on and set+). And now i got a dtc in BCMii, P0581 (Cruise Control Multi-Function Input A Circuit High). Any ideas on what to do ?

Voortti
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:21 pm
Vehicle: Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost 2014

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by Voortti » Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:37 am

Hi,

Done this installation last weekend and after some struggling with the airbag it's all good. Must say that the logig is not the best in Ford CC coz no idicator light when you turn it on and you always need to turn back on if you use the off button on the steering wheel.

shephard
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:20 pm
Vehicle: 2012 ford fiesta zetec s 1.6

Re: Fiesta 7.5 Cruise Control activation

Post by shephard » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:44 pm

https://youtu.be/tVRkMRU5JDQ

I know this post is old but this may help people if you are still struggling or if there is anyone new trying this. I had the same problem where I could only get the light to come and nothing would work I did abit of digging and messing around and manages to get it working so I have made a video to help you towards getting it to work. I cringe at the video but hopefully it helps..

Post Reply