program a new APIM

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
thayilt
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:29 am
Vehicle: 2011, ford explorer, 3.5l v-6

Re: program a new APIM

Post by thayilt »

Navigation is built into the module. Speed limit display should be there on all 2017 explorers, I hope. Any one owns a 2017 explorer and know if it has the speed limit displayed in the cluster when it is displayed in the 8 inch display?
thayilt
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 5:29 am
Vehicle: 2011, ford explorer, 3.5l v-6

Re: program a new APIM

Post by thayilt »

Yes, when using built in navigation
sheltonfilms
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 6:13 pm
Vehicle: 2000 Ford Ranger 2.5L Gas USA / 2013 Explorer LMT
Location: Hoover, AL (USA)

Re: program a new APIM

Post by sheltonfilms »

Tried reset of IPC and APIM after all the programming?
Ptrck600
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:03 pm
Vehicle: F150/3.5/2016

Re: program a new APIM

Post by Ptrck600 »

My sync 3 system show speed limit sign on the bottom, but maybe only if it has been added to the exact road you are on. not sure all roads post the speed limit in the ford maps.
rickypartal2
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:10 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Explorer Sport

Re: program a new APIM

Post by rickypartal2 »

Ive got a 2017 Sport with Synch 3 and both builds 2 and now 3 show the speed limit on the 8 inch and on the instrument cluster when you have it set to nav
Cdryan25
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:10 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Ford Explorer, 3.5LV6

Re: program a new APIM

Post by Cdryan25 »

thayilt wrote:
Sat May 27, 2017 7:28 am
Thanks a lot guys for the advise. I went and got a used 2017 APIM & touch screen and programmed it to my 2011 explorer. Everything works fine except I could nor get it to update to the later software so that I can have carplay and android auto. I tried to update through WiFi. Anybody has any suggestions or ideas please. The other problem I have is that despite setting it to show full screen map, it shows only half screen and the other half is blank, most of the time. It will show turn by turn listing when I set the sync to that. Thirdly the main screen doesn't show the outside temperature on top middle next to the clock. Please help
Thanks
How did you reprogram the apim?
matt77303
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:43 pm
Vehicle: focus mk3 ST3

Re: program a new APIM

Post by matt77303 »

My sync3 displays speed limits, both of mine do.
Matt
crazy4dss
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:10 pm
Vehicle: 2016 Explorer Limited

Re: program a new APIM

Post by crazy4dss »

Getting one from the junkyard also and curious on how to do this. Not sure where or which line item to select to enter my vin number. No other module will be replaced other than Sync 3 screen, APIM and USB media hub.
lndskrnr
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:31 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Ford Fusion

Re: program a new APIM

Post by lndskrnr »

I know this is an old thread but I was wondering if anyone knew how to get the original install files to program the APIM as if it were brand new, I have had to replace the module multiple times now because it keeps dying after the latest update and the "new" one I just bought off of ebay has the newest update on it and is showing the same signs that the other two did before dying. I'm beginning to suspect that its the software killing the module.
Post Reply