2009 P71 Crown Victoria forscan options

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
michael.parker1
Vehicle: 2009 Crown Victoria P71

2009 P71 Crown Victoria forscan options

Post by michael.parker1 »

So just got a 2009 P71 and got forscan so that I could program my key fobs for it but since I'm also a mechanic I went ahead and got the lifetime subscription to forscan because I figure it'll come in handy in the future but for now I want to learn the whole thing and get used to it first but what other options can I mess with on my p71? whatever yall have done or think might be cool id love to do just to learn the program some more. right now I can get into the ABS, IC, DDM, LCM, and RCM but is there any other modules I should be able to get into? I got the OBD linkEX adapter so it doesn't have the switch and I've read from a few other peoples post that apparently they weren't able to get into all the modules without having the switch, is that true? and if not then what changes can I make just from those options, even if its not something id want to keep on the car I just want to make some changes, see what they do and learn forscan some more.
Ecmbuster
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles

Re: 2009 P71 Crown Victoria forscan options

Post by Ecmbuster »

Let's cover the OBDLink EX first. Click the link and notice the right side of the web page (third point down).
Those are the attributes of that cable and it is high quality. Check once in a while for current updates.
https://www.obdlink.com/products/obdlink-ex/

As for the other FORScan users that mention about the DPDT switch, go back to the begining of this post. Yours is different.

99.99999 % are clueless about the installed networks with a Ford and still using a bottle opener with twist off caps.
The Double Pole Double Contact Switch shifts network connectivity from CAN High Speed to CAN Low Speed when FORScan requests the correct switch position to access the correct network.