Vehicle Hacked??!!

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
cfoster87
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Fusion SE 2.5

Vehicle Hacked??!!

Post by cfoster87 »

:arrow: Hi everyone I am new to forscan and in need of some help reflashing the modules in my 2017 Ford Fusion.

As rare as it sounds a few months ago I believe my car was hacked. It started changing gears, accelerating all by itself. The RPM’s spiking, electronic stability control/power steering cutting out randomly, the heat/fan speed would turn off and even go up and down without touching the knob. The TPMS displays inaccurate readings (likely spoofed) just to name a few.
So anyways when I took my car into the local Ford dealership they laughed and said its not possible that a vehicle can be hacked. Of coarse while the car was there it wasn’t doing any of the above things. Just to be on the safe side I told them I wanted the BCM reset back to the factory and they told me that wasn’t possible but they could run a reprogramming on the IDS that “inhales” and “exhales” the modules. So they did that and charged me $190, before I even made it home the car was acting up. After doing some research online I learned about “as-built data” and that it is possible to put the modules back to the factory. The next day I took the car back up to the dealership and spoke with the service manager. They lied and gave me the complete run around, he told me they never said that and that they did reprogram the modules to as-built. He said I didn’t know what I was talking about and flat out refused to reprogram the modules again. I was then told I would need to pay and get a complete inspection done. Frustrated that they already ripped me off I stormed out of there.