How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2751
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by FORScan »

If fuel tank is upgraded to greater one, IPC module configuration has to be adjusted to calculate Distance Till Empty (DTE) properly. The change is quite simple, but many of our users ask for detailed step by step instructions for this process, so here we go.

WARNING: Modifying configuration parameters in Module Configuration (As Built format) function and using As Built spreadsheets is not a recommended way. Configuration layout may be different between models/years and using wrong layout may cause problems. Recommended way is to use Module Configuration that lists configuration parameter in a human friendly way. This manual explains how to do it on example of Fuel Tank Size.

1. Obtain an adapter that works with Ford. We recommend OBDLink EX.

2. Download FORScan for Windows from our official site:

https://forscan.org/download.html

3. Install Extended License, you can get free 2mo one as described in our FAQ:

https://forscan.org/faq.html#qlic2

4. Setup the adapter (should be done automatically by Windows)

5. Connect to the vehicle.

6. Go to Configuration and Programming and run IPC Module Configuration

Image

7. FORScan will open the list of all configuration parameters available for the IPC module:

Image

8. Number of parameters is quite significant, it may be hard to find necessary one. So please use the filter field at the top of the work area to filter the list by key phrase 'fuel tank':

Image

Note that FORScan will show you 2 parameters, in gallons and liters. It is in fact the same parameter, just displayed in different units for user's convenience. It is not necessary to change both of these parameters, you need to change just one of them, let's select gallons.

9. Select the parameter in the table and open the edit dialog box either by clicking twice with left mouse button on the parameter, or by pressing "Edit selected" button:

Image

10. Change the value as you need, for example to 55 gallons:

Image

and press OK button.

11. Note that FORScan only changed parameter in gallons, same parameter in liters remains unchanged. It is OK, not necessary to change the second parameter. Press Write to write the changed parameter to ECU:

Image

12. FORScan will ask to confirm the change:

Image

Press OK to confirm.

13. This step is required for 2020+ F-Series only:

Change Fuel Level Source parameter from PCM to IPC:

Image

and write change to the module.

14. Optional step: it is recommended to re-run the function to make sure the parameters have been really changed.
Ford_6.7
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:12 pm
Vehicle: 2019 Ford F150 3.0L Stock

Re: How use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by Ford_6.7 »

Is this the same for the 2018/19 F150 3.0 psd? Thank you
james1le!
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2020 1:34 pm
Vehicle: 2015 CHEVY CAMARO 6.2

Re: How use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by james1le! »

NEED HELP DOING A 2017 FORD F250 DTE
rkey1904
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:07 am
Vehicle: 2014 f250 6.7 diesel

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by rkey1904 »

Worked great, hank you!!!! :D
J09789
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 8:31 pm
Vehicle: Ford F250 6.7 2017

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by J09789 »

HELP! I'm only showing HS CAN, no MS CAN, what I'm I missing?
FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2751
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by FORScan »

J09789 wrote:
Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:51 pm
HELP! I'm only showing HS CAN, no MS CAN, what I'm I missing?
Your adapter needs to support MS-CAN. In case of adapter with mechanical HS/MS switch, you need to remove vehicle profile and reconnect, and strongly follow FORScan instructions on switching between HS and MS.
daktona
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 4:49 pm
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo, 2.0TDCI, 140hp, 2011

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by daktona »

I wanted to do this on an Mondeo Mk4.5 from 2011 and could only select from 6 or 7 variants that are predefined, couldn't put my exact tank size. My tank has 60 liters but I could put only 62 as this was the closest predefined option for me.
Is the option to put whatever size you want only on some cars while on others only predefined list ?
JimStout
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 2:28 pm
Vehicle: F250 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel 2011

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by JimStout »

I just followed these instructions on my 2011 F250 and it worked flawlessly! I was able to set my fuel tank size to 60 gallons. It was originally 26 gallons. After disconnecting the OBDLink and starting my truck, my DTE showed 681 Miles to Empty! Awesome! Thank you!
ace_boy2786
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2020 7:09 pm
Vehicle: 2005 ford f350 6.0 diesel

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by ace_boy2786 »

Sorry, I haven't tried yet myself but does anyone know if this works on the "old" 99-06 superduties (mines 05 diesel-US), or is this just the 07+ (I think that's when ford allowed pre-defined changes themselves)?
New user using dell Windows7 pro laptop and Rotunda (Ford/Bosch) VCM-II
1999 F150 4.6 v8 Lariat
2005 F350 6.0 v8 King Ranch Diesel
2006 Ford Ranger 3.0 v6 (Brothers)
2017 Transit T350 3.7 v6 (Parents)
Rodrigo eichner
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 12:20 am
Vehicle: Fusion 2.5 174c

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by Rodrigo eichner »

por que eu nao consigo acessar todoe os modulos presentes do fusion:tenho a chave e tudocertinho mas nao consigo alguem para me auxiliar por favor?
Post Reply