How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
hitfactor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm
Vehicle: F350 Lariat, 6.7l diesel 2011

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by hitfactor »

Gripper76 wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:46 am
Hi, VERY new here but WHY are people changing the tank size? is it wrong from factory?? I have a 2.7 F-150 also.... Thanks :)
Fuel tank on my F350 was 26 gallon, replaced it with a 56 gallon tank to increase my towing range.
Ecmbuster
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:08 am
Vehicle: Volvo Bertone and two Motorcyles
Location: On a spinning rock

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by Ecmbuster »

hitfactor wrote:
Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:52 pm
Gripper76 wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 4:46 am
Hi, VERY new here but WHY are people changing the tank size? is it wrong from factory?? I have a 2.7 F-150 also.... Thanks :)
Fuel tank on my F350 was 26 gallon, replaced it with a 56 gallon tank to increase my towing range.
Go to the top of this page:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14698
Do not ask for help in PM. Use the forum to ask and answer questions!
hitfactor
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:47 pm
Vehicle: F350 Lariat, 6.7l diesel 2011

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by hitfactor »

Ecmbuster wrote:
Wed Jun 16, 2021 4:19 pm
Go to the top of this page:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14698
LOL, I was answering the guy before who asked why people are changing the setting. Just letting him know why I changed the setting. Easy peasy.
slammm
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:00 pm
Vehicle: Ford F150, 5.4, Super Crew Cab, 2010

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by slammm »

I have a 2010 F150 King Ranch (26 gallon tank). Added a 50 gallon tank like others to increase tow range. Also increased tire size over stock (Michelin LT 275/65 R20). Followed directions meticulously with an OBDlink EX. Cannot get it to work. Cannot find fuel tank or tires?

New here. Any help, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
tractmec
Posts: 497
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:43 pm
Vehicle: F150 5.4 Triton 2005 Expy5.4 2003 Fusion 3.0 2010

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by tractmec »

slammm wrote:
Mon Jun 28, 2021 1:46 pm
I have a 2010 F150 King Ranch (26 gallon tank). Added a 50 gallon tank like others to increase tow range. Also increased tire size over stock (Michelin LT 275/65 R20). Followed directions meticulously with an OBDlink EX. Cannot get it to work. Cannot find fuel tank or tires?

New here. Any help, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
By "cannot get it to work" do you mean you cannot get into the PCM to find the parameters to change?
If so You likely are not doing anything wrong as programming For PCM's from sometime in 2010(I have a 2010 Fusion that is in this condition) and earlier, PCM Configuration and Programming is still in development with Forscan.

At this moment it requires Ford IDS and an adapter capable of generating the 18 Volt FEPS(Flash EPROM Signal)(Have done tire size change in a 2005 F150XLT this way with a Clone VCM2) signal on pin 13 for these early PCM's to open the PCM for programming. A connector socket in Pin position 13 of your DLC would be the tip off!

The Forscan 2.3.41 version cannot do it with any adapter.

If you are using the 2.4.x Firmware branch you may see a few reset functions in the PCM configuration and in the service functions and a "Set Program Voltage" test which is a test to see if the adapter and the system(good battery voltage and capacity and A PCM capable of programming) is capable of setting the FEPS voltage and open the PCM, but so far that is all Forscan has developed for these FEPS PCM's. (They advised me, when I asked about it that yes it will be implemented, but that programming on these is much more risky and they are taking their time to get it right).
slammm
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:00 pm
Vehicle: Ford F150, 5.4, Super Crew Cab, 2010

Re: How to use FORScan to adjust fuel tank size and DTE

Post by slammm »

The answer to your question is no PCMs.

Thank you very much for your superb informative comments.
Post Reply