Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
Post Reply
manj80
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:29 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 L

Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by manj80 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 1:35 pm

Hi everyone,

Yesterday I configured my 17 mustang using Forscan but I modified BydCM and other modules, (Not the AS-Built ones) and most of the things are working and I didnt have any issues.

This is quite simple and straight forward for most of the things, then why we have to go through the pain of modifying numbers in AS-Built modules? As in other modules everything is written in plain English for the functions.
Unless there is a major drawback or cons?

All I found in every thread is only to modify AS-Built data and not the modules without AS-Built.

Is there a reason why? Because mine is working just fine for most of the modifications.

And other question: How can I upload the factory .ab file or original values from my Laptop?


Thanks in advance!!
modules.PNG
modules.PNG (62.68 KiB) Viewed 328 times
image 2.png
image 2.png (359.17 KiB) Viewed 328 times
Last edited by manj80 on Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Juice
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by Juice » Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:27 pm

Both methods acomplish the same thing. If you have the option to do it without asbuilt editing, it means ppl decoded the asbuilt options and is included in Forscan.

manj80
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:29 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 L

Re: Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by manj80 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:30 pm

Juice wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:27 pm
Both methods acomplish the same thing. If you have the option to do it without asbuilt editing, it means ppl decoded the asbuilt options and is included in Forscan.
So, what you are saying is if I can see what I see in Image 2 is coz of people decoded and included in forscan and not by Ford?
Attachments
image 2.png
image 2.png (359.17 KiB) Viewed 326 times

Juice
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by Juice » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:15 pm

Correct. Asbuilt module config is always there for modes that can be configured. Non-asbuilt config is only there if the forscan team added that info to the program.

manj80
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:29 pm
Vehicle: 2017 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 L

Re: Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by manj80 » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:15 pm

Oh Cool, Nice work and thanks to everyone who did the hard work :)
Appreciated!!!

I did few things and some of them are still not working, may be someone here can help

Double honk - worked
Rear park Aid - option disabled from menu, but still beep on reverse if traffic detected or when approached an obstacle (I want beeping completely disabled, except for the park aid marking)
DLR - Option is now showing in menu but still default 3 bars as DLR, I would like either fog lights or turn signals as DLR
Police dark mode still not working
Outside temperature now disappeared (I really not sure which setting made that disappear)
Startup warnings and chimes, could it be disabled?

Again, thanks a lot in advance and really appreciated.

Juice
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:54 pm
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang, Coyote, MagnumXL 6spd, 404RWHP/393TQ

Re: Configured Mustang using Forscan, without AS-Built Data

Post by Juice » Fri Aug 16, 2019 1:44 pm

This is where you woul start looking at modifying the asbuilt data. Just keep in mind that some or all the things you still want to change may not be possible or may disable a companion system you want to keep.

I cangive you two personal examples.
1 I enabled my fog lights on mine, a full self test flashed the fog lights. But the fog light switch still didnt turn them on.
2 On my van, I disabled DRL which also disabled my backup proximity system.

Im not familiar with your model year, so thats all I got. 😀

Post Reply