Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Car configuration discussions and experience sharing
consp
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 11:16 am
Vehicle: Fiesta 125hp 2017 (My13.25 Mk7.5, With EU Sync3)

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by consp » Mon Jul 22, 2019 7:40 am

Yansel wrote:
Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:35 pm
after upgrade I had trouble with audio, volume wouldn't be as loud as before, bluetooth audio messed up with calls. Got it solved with these values.

try this ACM values:


727-01-01 920x xxxx xxx
727-01-02 x300 xx
Thank for the info but unfortunately there is no way to alter those values as in the Fiesta (at least) the configuration is not by AsBuilt for the ACM but by Central Configuration. The CC/IPC forces the radio to use a smaller format asbuilt (1 byte) without the options available. I have not been able to get it to report the extended format in any way.

consp
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 11:16 am
Vehicle: Fiesta 125hp 2017 (My13.25 Mk7.5, With EU Sync3)

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by consp » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:49 pm

I figured out my problem: Bad connections

The APIM plug pins are about .2mm thinner than my measurement tool's pins which caused them to extend too far and make no or bad connections. Fixed this and the sound from the 'alert'/mono line is back again.

Settings are now which work:
112 - In car entertainment High level CD AM/FM
154 – Accessory USB without
157 – bluetooth Handsfree without or G2 bluetooth (makes no difference)
172 – Front Display DM8 with nav
214 – Mini ICP (08)

I changed the ACM value byte to 02 but this seems to make no difference but it was that on the car from which the Sync 3 device came from so I kept it like that.

tezza
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:14 pm
Vehicle: ford focus

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by tezza » Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:52 pm

consp wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:01 pm
tried changing the bluetooth settings and got phone audio to not work again. After setting it back to known working settings it worked again.

In my case calls work with "157 – bluetooth Handsfree without" and "G2/3" (option 09 I thought). Option G1 will fail audio as it expects it not on the mono but on the Main channel which is incorrectly output by the APIM to the mono channel.

I might try one more thing to check if the APIM is outputting the nav sounds to mono in the "non working bluetooth" an see if any output occurs but I didn't have a multimeter at hand today.

Otherwise I guess I'll try updating the APIM again to the latest firmware and hope it resets the incorrect settings. I also got my hands on a VCM-like device and might check if the engineering mode on IDS might give some insight.
Been searching the net after i did the sync 4" to 6.5" sync2 on my 2015 fiesta all is working apart from the audio buttons on the steering wheel , is there something i have missed

Thanks in advance

consp
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 11:16 am
Vehicle: Fiesta 125hp 2017 (My13.25 Mk7.5, With EU Sync3)

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by consp » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:43 pm

You need to configure the HW SWC and make sure the device is either set to C1MCA (EU) or CGEA1.2 (US). Otherwise it will most likely not work. Since everything else is working it most likely is set up correctly.

These are mine:

Code: Select all

#   -bits-loc- Name                                                                                             - Field     // Mask  - Location in field  // current value(s)
12  - 2  - 14  CAN Steering Wheel Control Switches:  ............................................................. 7D0-01-01 // 0x03     nnnX nnnn nn // 0x68
                     >>    0:   Not Available (do not log missing messages - also HW SWC)
                           1:   CGEA SCCM (log missing messages against missed SWC)
                           2:   SWMT (ie cursors and OK button over CAN) - C1MCA and CGEA 1.3
                           3:   SWFC (ie has function buttons) - C1MCA

And

Code: Select all

51  - 2  - 58  HW SWC:  .......................................................................................... 7D0-01-02 // 0x30     nnnn Xnnn nn // 0x17
                           0:   Not Available
                     >>    1:   SWAC with volume, PTT...  (Variant C)
                           2:   SWAC with Mode, Seek, etc... (Variant A)
                           3:   Reserved

Are the correct settings for HW SWC (buttons) in the fiesta and transit courier in the EU at least. For US you mileage may vary but these settings control the buttons.
You have to match the location and the correct bits so the first one is the last 2 bits 7D0-01-01 byte 2. My value is 0x68 which with mask 0x03 result in (0x68 & 0x03) == 0x00. The other one is in 7D0-01-02 byte 3 mask 0x30 which in my case is (0x30 & 0x17) == 0x10
Last edited by consp on Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

consp
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 11:16 am
Vehicle: Fiesta 125hp 2017 (My13.25 Mk7.5, With EU Sync3)

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by consp » Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:17 am

tezza wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 4:52 pm
consp wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:01 pm
tried changing the bluetooth settings and got phone audio to not work again. After setting it back to known working settings it worked again.

In my case calls work with "157 – bluetooth Handsfree without" and "G2/3" (option 09 I thought). Option G1 will fail audio as it expects it not on the mono but on the Main channel which is incorrectly output by the APIM to the mono channel.

I might try one more thing to check if the APIM is outputting the nav sounds to mono in the "non working bluetooth" an see if any output occurs but I didn't have a multimeter at hand today.

Otherwise I guess I'll try updating the APIM again to the latest firmware and hope it resets the incorrect settings. I also got my hands on a VCM-like device and might check if the engineering mode on IDS might give some insight.
Been searching the net after i did the sync 4" to 6.5" sync2 on my 2015 fiesta all is working apart from the audio buttons on the steering wheel , is there something i have missed

Thanks in advance
See post above (forgot to quote).

You can also check the following settings just to be sure:

Code: Select all

63  - 1  - 72  CGEA Version:  .................................................................................... 7D0-01-02 // 0x80     nnnn nnnn Xn // 0x42 
		     >>    0:	CGEA Version 1.2(also set C1MCA)
		           1:	CGEA Version 1.3 (will implement new power moding strategy)


pvitulli
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:34 pm
Vehicle: F-150, 5.0 , 2016

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by pvitulli » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:29 pm

I did 4 to 8 inch sync 3 upgrade. Everything worked except sound during phone calls.
I was able to fix it by reprogramming the ACM with Forscan. Here are the settings:
2016 Ford F-150 XLT
727-01-01 9800 1800 8060
727-01-02 0300 34
727-02-01 5B8C
727-03-01 1446
727-04-01 0003 0255 53E0

tuscoops
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 12:08 am
Vehicle: Ford Focus ST, Petrol 1999cc, 2013

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by tuscoops » Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:58 am

consp wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:49 pm
I figured out my problem: Bad connections

The APIM plug pins are about .2mm thinner than my measurement tool's pins which caused them to extend too far and make no or bad connections. Fixed this and the sound from the 'alert'/mono line is back again.

Settings are now which work:
112 - In car entertainment High level CD AM/FM
154 – Accessory USB without
157 – bluetooth Handsfree without or G2 bluetooth (makes no difference)
172 – Front Display DM8 with nav
214 – Mini ICP (08)

I changed the ACM value byte to 02 but this seems to make no difference but it was that on the car from which the Sync 3 device came from so I kept it like that.
I have done the 4” Sync1 to 8” Sync3 conversion and have the same issue as yourself and OP with the ACM only displaying the one line in FORScan 727-01-01 0030 and after reading through this thread, I’m still not sure if you’ve managed to get the BT Call Audio working? My mic works as the receiver of the call can hear me. I don’t have Voice Control or Siri sounds either, but again can still hear me.

Where you’ve said “Settings are now which work” can you please point me to where you’re making these changes?
FORScan or other software and modules? I’m a little confused haha

I have pretty much everything else working fine, bar a ‘Navigation Fault Message’ that happens from time to time when I start the car. Although Navigation works fine when using it...??

consp
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 11:16 am
Vehicle: Fiesta 125hp 2017 (My13.25 Mk7.5, With EU Sync3)

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by consp » Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:01 pm

tuscoops wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:58 am
I have done the 4” Sync1 to 8” Sync3 conversion and have the same issue as yourself and OP with the ACM only displaying the one line in FORScan 727-01-01 0030 and after reading through this thread, I’m still not sure if you’ve managed to get the BT Call Audio working? My mic works as the receiver of the call can hear me. I don’t have Voice Control or Siri sounds either, but again can still hear me.

Where you’ve said “Settings are now which work” can you please point me to where you’re making these changes?
FORScan or other software and modules? I’m a little confused haha

I have pretty much everything else working fine, bar a ‘Navigation Fault Message’ that happens from time to time when I start the car. Although Navigation works fine when using it...??
Some better overview.

These settings are in the "main" central configuration. I think this is the BdyCM in the Focus but I am not sure, it is the IPC in the Fiesta. Change the option at the top to "engineering" to find and change the values if they are not shown. See also viewtopic.php?t=1932
Changes to the Central configuration (main):

Code: Select all

Name                            My original value (your value may differ)             Now working with
Bluetooth handsfree	        08 - SYNC G1 BT-Phone BT-Audio                        09 - G2 ... (some have had results with 01 - Without)
Touchscreen                     06 - Dispay with no Touchscreen, Colout-TFT MFD 5     09 - Front Display DM8 with nav
Integrated Control Panel        05 - Navigation ICP                                   09 - Mini ICP
See also https://www.fordownersclub.com/forums/t ... with-pics/ for some Focus related sync 2 settings but they are the same for Sync 3 as far as I know. They use focccus but you can also do it with Forscan.

Note: these settings result in a "configuration error" but result in everything working as expected in my case, I have not been able to remove that error as of yet. As always; YMMV.

tuscoops
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 12:08 am
Vehicle: Ford Focus ST, Petrol 1999cc, 2013

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by tuscoops » Fri Apr 17, 2020 11:12 am

consp wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:01 pm
tuscoops wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 3:58 am
I have done the 4” Sync1 to 8” Sync3 conversion and have the same issue as yourself and OP with the ACM only displaying the one line in FORScan 727-01-01 0030 and after reading through this thread, I’m still not sure if you’ve managed to get the BT Call Audio working? My mic works as the receiver of the call can hear me. I don’t have Voice Control or Siri sounds either, but again can still hear me.

Where you’ve said “Settings are now which work” can you please point me to where you’re making these changes?
FORScan or other software and modules? I’m a little confused haha

I have pretty much everything else working fine, bar a ‘Navigation Fault Message’ that happens from time to time when I start the car. Although Navigation works fine when using it...??
Some better overview.

These settings are in the "main" central configuration. I think this is the BdyCM in the Focus but I am not sure, it is the IPC in the Fiesta. Change the option at the top to "engineering" to find and change the values if they are not shown. See also viewtopic.php?t=1932
Changes to the Central configuration (main):

Code: Select all

Name                            My original value (your value may differ)             Now working with
Bluetooth handsfree	        08 - SYNC G1 BT-Phone BT-Audio                        09 - G2 ... (some have had results with 01 - Without)
Touchscreen                     06 - Dispay with no Touchscreen, Colout-TFT MFD 5     09 - Front Display DM8 with nav
Integrated Control Panel        05 - Navigation ICP                                   09 - Mini ICP
See also https://www.fordownersclub.com/forums/t ... with-pics/ for some Focus related sync 2 settings but they are the same for Sync 3 as far as I know. They use focccus but you can also do it with Forscan.

Note: these settings result in a "configuration error" but result in everything working as expected in my case, I have not been able to remove that error as of yet. As always; YMMV.

Thank you for the info @consp I used FoCCCus to make the changes. Did a few tests and everything seems to be working fine! Voice Command, Siri (yet to test Android Auto), BT Calls - now all working!

It did however change on the Instrument Cluster from Blue/White to a Blue to Black fade, also replaced the ST logo animation with a Red, Blue and somewhat white screen... Not a fan! haha

- I do till get the 'Navigation Fault' message at times, although I'm going to move the GPS antenna and see if this helps, as I don't get the message every time I start the car. Plus all Navigation features work; Voice Command / Search POI's, Voice Audio, Chimes, Alerts, Distances and Turns and distance is displayed correctly on the Instrument Panel screen. This one needs further time and attention to figure out.

Shiroi
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:07 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus mk3 ST

Re: Acm problem after 4 to 8 inch upgrade

Post by Shiroi » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:06 pm

I have done the same conversion some weeks ago on my ST.

The navigation fault appeared only at the beginning. It vanished after some days and hasn’t shown again.

The design on my instrument cluster also changed and the st logo isn’t there anymore :/

I found this article on the UCDS wiki : https://wiki.ucdsys.ru/doku.php?id=ford ... pc_st_logo
I don’t have ucds so I can’t test it but maybe it’s helpful for you.

Post Reply