FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Testing new functions
int0x13
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:57 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus MK2 2.0L TDCI 136 remapped ECU

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by int0x13 » Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:14 pm

Download link is updated. It is recommended to remove previous version before installing new one
BEWARE, IF YOU UNINSTALL OLD FORSCAN VERSION TO UPGRADE TO NEW ONE YOU WILL LOSE EVERY SAVED DATA/SETTINGS.

fred08155
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:28 am
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo Turnier TDCI 96kW 2002

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by fred08155 » Thu Apr 23, 2015 10:01 pm

Tried the app under 4.0.4 . Works very well with BT mode 2 and also tried a new ELM327 v1.5 BT clone adapter. Seems a good one - at least Forscan says so - response time 16ms.
By the way... where does Forscan store the log files and the saved PID reccordings?

FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by FORScan » Fri Apr 24, 2015 8:27 am

fred08155 wrote: By the way... where does Forscan store the log files and the saved PID reccordings?
At this moment FORScan doesn't save log files exported by user. You can only share them (send by email or dropbox etc). FSL files are saved to internal application storage, in documents folder. This storage is not available for other applications, however you can load them in FORScan itself. You can also share the FSL by email etc.

In one of next versions we are going to add an option to save files in standard Downloads folder.

Automate
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:12 pm
Vehicle: 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
Location: US

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by Automate » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:32 am

Minor issue I noticed.

Under Settings I have Measurement set to Imperial but when I add a temperature PID it defaults to degrees C instead of degrees F. Isn't this the purpose of the Measurement setting, to select the proper units?

FORScan
Site Admin
Posts: 2563
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by FORScan » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:52 am

Automate wrote:Minor issue I noticed.

Under Settings I have Measurement set to Imperial but when I add a temperature PID it defaults to degrees C instead of degrees F. Isn't this the purpose of the Measurement setting, to select the proper units?
The Measurement setting change requires reconnect to vehicle, in order to apply the change. It currently works so in all versions (Windows, iOS, Android). Also, the setting doesn't change units for PIDs that already on the board (even after reconnect).

sergis87
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:40 am
Vehicle: Mondeo 3 TDDI 115hp 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by sergis87 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:31 pm

My input for testing:

Tested ELM 327 bluethoot, where i soldered extra components to get J1850 work - showed elm327 v1.5 with delay 30ms, read trouble codes, live stream worked for about 2 minutes, then error showed up and tool disapeared from bluethoot device list, after reconect it identifies up as elm327 v1.5 with delay 15ms but not connecting to car. I think this was to mutch for this chinese junk device.. :(

Tested another chinese device, called "EODB/ODB diagnostic interface" (blue case), this identified also as elm327 v1.5, delay 15ms, and was mutch more faster reading dtc as prior device and worked good in all ways.

So good adapter is a must!
Thinking what hapened to first one - changed baud rate or some electronic component burnded :?:

Automate
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:12 pm
Vehicle: 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
Location: US

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by Automate » Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:43 pm

FORScan wrote:
Automate wrote:Minor issue I noticed.

Under Settings I have Measurement set to Imperial but when I add a temperature PID it defaults to degrees C instead of degrees F. Isn't this the purpose of the Measurement setting, to select the proper units?
The Measurement setting change requires reconnect to vehicle, in order to apply the change. It currently works so in all versions (Windows, iOS, Android). Also, the setting doesn't change units for PIDs that already on the board (even after reconnect).
That's how I thought it should work but it is not how my Android 0.9.3 install is acting. Do I need to make a video?

Automate
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:12 pm
Vehicle: 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid
Location: US

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by Automate » Sat Apr 25, 2015 5:28 pm

sergis87 wrote:Tested another chinese device, called "EODB/ODB diagnostic interface" (blue case), this identified also as elm327 v1.5, delay 15ms, and was mutch more faster reading dtc as prior device and worked good in all ways.
Can you provide name or link to where you purchased the scanner?

sergis87
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:40 am
Vehicle: Mondeo 3 TDDI 115hp 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by sergis87 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 8:20 am

Automate wrote:Can you provide name or link to where you purchased the scanner?
http://www.dx.com/p/elm327-obd-2-obd-bl ... Tye7JP9kZB

Angela386
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:44 am
Vehicle: 2006 Ford Explorer 4.0L V6

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Post by Angela386 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:08 pm

Application crashes when attempting to access the Table, Dashboard, or Graph options when in Live Mode. Options will load in Demo Mode, but crash when in live mode.

Version: v0.9.4 Kernel v2.2.3
Phone: Samsung Galaxy Note II (GT-N7100)
Android Version: 4.4.2
ELM Device: OBDLink MX Bluetooth
Vehicle: 2006 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0L V6

Post Reply