FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Testing new functions

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby FORScan » Sun May 03, 2015 12:42 pm

New version delivered, first post is updated
FORScan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby int0x13 » Mon May 04, 2015 11:51 am

FORScan wrote:Right, starting from 0.9.5 all user documents are saved to the standard Download folder. Prior to 0.9.5 it is not possible to access user documents outside of FORScan.

I've managed to migrate all my internal memory *.fsl files to the downloads folder. It took me a while to understand why i couldnt move/copy the files from the internal memory. It's because of the illegal characters into file names. I've seen that you have changed (and it's a good thing, you probably realized it was problematic too) the file name default naming to remove the spaces and the ":" chars. It's what it was preventing the mv and cp commands to work.
Anyway, after moving all the *.fsl files from internal memory to /sdcard/downloads i can again load my previous records.
Last edited by int0x13 on Wed May 06, 2015 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
int0x13
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:57 pm
Vehicle: Ford Focus MK2 2.0L TDCI 136 remapped ECU

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby hybridbear » Tue May 05, 2015 11:59 pm

This works for me with our Ford Focus Electric. No other app (Torque Pro, et al) will communicate with the Focus Electric since it follows a different protocol since it doesn't have an internal combustion engine. I'm so glad to have FORScan for Android. I downloaded the Windows version but never got around to using it. I will also try downloading the iOS version since most of our devices are Apple products. Thank you!!!
2013 Ford Focus Electric
2013 Ford Fusion Energi
hybridbear
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 9:48 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Ford Focus Electric

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby larryh » Wed May 06, 2015 8:43 am

Is there anyway to disable scanning of the MS CAN bus? There is an option to disable it in the Windows Version, but I don't see an option in the Android version. Whenever it attempts to scan the MS CAN bus it causes a system fault in the traction control system, so I can't use ForScan.
larryh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 10:19 pm
Vehicle: 2013 fusion energi

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby Automate » Wed May 06, 2015 9:54 pm

A few suggestions after using the Android beta a bit.

The dark blue color used as one the colors to display values on the Table page are hard to read against the black background.

After re-connecting to the car the app forgets which module you last had selected and always goes to PCM module on the Table page. For instance, if I'm viewing the TCM module, then return to the main menu, disconnect and reconnect and then open the Table page it will be on PCM instead of the TCM I was last viewing.

It would be nice if you could view the detailed PID description even when you are not in the PID configure page. For instance if you are viewing live data you could still touch on the short PID description and view a pop-up with the detailed PID description. From the short PID description it is sometimes hard to know what the value really means.

Thanks,
Automate
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:12 pm
Location: US
Vehicle: 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby FORScan » Thu May 07, 2015 10:34 am

larryh wrote:Is there anyway to disable scanning of the MS CAN bus? There is an option to disable it in the Windows Version, but I don't see an option in the Android version.


Are you sure such an option exists in Windows version? But it will not ask for MS-CAN anymore if during the first connect no any MS-CAN modules are found. So in your case second and all further connects should happen without a problem. Same logic is implemented in Android version.

larryh wrote: Whenever it attempts to scan the MS CAN bus it causes a system fault in the traction control system, so I can't use ForScan.


The source of the problem is that this vehicle has different network organization and MS-CAN modules should be addressed otherwise. This problem is fixed in Windows version 2.2.4 (will be released soon), so Android version will get this fix when it will be switched to the kernel version 2.2.4. Most likely it will happen when the application will be officially submitted to the Google Play.
FORScan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby FORScan » Thu May 07, 2015 10:35 am

Automate wrote:A few suggestions after using the Android beta a bit.


Thanks for the notes, we will try to resolve them.
FORScan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2466
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:21 am

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby hybridbear » Thu May 07, 2015 2:35 pm

Automate wrote:After re-connecting to the car the app forgets which module you last had selected and always goes to PCM module on the Table page. For instance, if I'm viewing the TCM module, then return to the main menu, disconnect and reconnect and then open the Table page it will be on PCM instead of the TCM I was last viewing.

I agree with this 100%! I hope you can program it to remember the last module I was connected to instead of defaulting to the PCM always. Thanks!
2013 Ford Focus Electric
2013 Ford Fusion Energi
hybridbear
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 9:48 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Ford Focus Electric

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby Automate » Thu May 07, 2015 4:38 pm

One more suggestion

It would be nice to show, maybe at the top of page, which Module is being viewed/selected on the Table/Dashboard/Graph pages.

Thanks
Automate
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:12 pm
Location: US
Vehicle: 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid

Re: FORScan Lite Beta for Android

Postby fred08155 » Thu May 07, 2015 9:41 pm

Is there still a bug with sending debug infos?
I tried with newest beta and every time i got "failed to attach the file" when using gmail app.
When using normal email app i always get an error message "mail doesn´t respond" and email app hangs up.
Third option in menu is to make en evernote entry - but this doesn´t save any log files.

Saving infos and recordings works fine and i get files in the Forscan folder under downloads. :)
fred08155
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:28 am
Vehicle: Ford Mondeo Turnier TDCI 96kW 2002

PreviousNext

Return to Beta testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests